Menu

GET IN TOUCH

Modern Steel Construction is the official publication of the American Institute of Steel Construction. MSC brings its readership in-depth information on the newest and most advanced uses of structural steel in buildings and bridges by focusing on innovative and cost-effective steel designs and the products that help bring them to life.

MSC is directed exclusively to professionals in the construction industry who make and influence purchasing decisions – whether they are engineers, architects, building owners, contractors, fabricators, detailers or erectors.

MSC is the only magazine in the United States devoted exclusively to the design and construction of steel-framed structures.

The first MSC issue was published in

 
1961
 

Meet Our Team

Scott Melnick

Scott Melnick

Editor & Publisher

melnick@modernsteel.com
Scott is the chief storyteller for the structural steel industry. He's patiently biding his time until his kids are older and he can start collecting kaleidoscopes anew.

Geoff Weisenberger

Geoff Weisenberger

Senior Editor

weisenberger@modernsteel.com
Geoff edits the best steel magazine the world has ever seen. He was once a proficient horn and trumpet player and has long considered taking up the drums.

Areti Carter

Areti Carter

Director of Publishing

areti@modernsteel.com
Areti manages AISC's publishing and related projects. In her spare time, she practices her culinary artistry and enjoys traveling.

Lou Gurthet

Lou Gurthet

Advertising Account Manager

gurthet@modernsteel.com
Lou enjoys maintaining contacts & promoting the industry he loves through selling MSC advertisements. Extended office hours are provided from his porch overlooking Little Traverse Lake in Northern Michigan.

Tasha Weiss

Tasha Weiss

Assistant Editor

weiss@modernsteel.com 
Tasha communicates the latest news on the structural steel industry. She enjoys spending time outdoors and is the proud owner of a YouTube sensation cat named Bauer.

Kristin Egan

Kristin Egan

graphic designer

egan@modernsteel.com
Kristin is AISC's graphic designer. Her interests are brought to you by the letter ‘B:’ biking, boating, burgers, bacon and Bond. James Bond.

Michael Kingston

Michael Kingston

database coordinator

kingston@aisc.org
Michael manages database subscriptions, circulation and list rentals. He is a huge fan of Doctor Who.